A Birthday Gift

thFYDEA7FJ

Steven had a birthday this month. Wanna know what I gave him?

Pictures! But not just any pictures. I surprised him by wearing his High School Letterman’s Jacket. He’s been locked up for 20 years, so it had been a long, long, long time since he’d seen it.

It meant a lot to him. Seeing something from his past, and not to mention his wife wearing it! He absolutely loved it. He called to thank me, and I could feel the smile on his face as I teasingly asked, “Wanna go steady?”

And for me, wearing the jacket and knowing that it had once been wrapped around him…that strangely made me feel close to him.

The simplest gifts can often have great sentimental meaning.

 

thCAHTCAWH

Suzie Jennings

Please Leave a Comment...

