Blessed

thN6FG6PWB

Until recently, I had no idea that my husband was so diligently seeking help & guidance through prayer. And on the flip side of that, he had no idea that I had been reaching out to the Christian community.

I received some fantastic news from –Blessed Magazine–. They read Steven’s blog and expressed an interest in doing a feature story on him. Awesome!!!

I sent this fabulous news to Steven through the postal service. And shortly before he received it, I got an incredible email from him. It’s difficult to explain the wonderful feelings I experienced while reading his words. There was a special connection between the two of us. We are so in-tune with each other.

Here’s his email & my response to it:

–Steven’s Email–

–Suzie’s Email–

I love this journey that Steven & I are on together. It’s beautiful.

I looked up the word blessed in the dictionary. Yes, I sure do feel blessed. 🙂

 

thCAHTCAWH

Suzie Jennings

2 thoughts on “Blessed

  1. sonniq says:

    Hi Suzie. I started started reading Steven’s posts a while back and I enjoy reading your thoughts and communication back to him. I understand why you are doing this and posting these wonderful letters and insights for the world to read. Both of you are so fortunate. Where you and Steve share the teachings of Christianity through the Bible, Jamie and I share Buddhism through the teachings in the Gosho. ( a book the size of the Bible written by Nichiren Daishonin on the teachings of Shakamuni ) Both faiths, when used to help you to become a better human that is what gives them value. To say you are a Christian or a Buddhist or any other faith and not actively use the teachings in a positive way is such a loss and has little meaning.

    But that wasn’t what I wanted to talk about. It’s about the letters and your projects. A year ago, looking at the hundreds of letters I’d gotten from Jamie I knew I wanted to do something with them to create value for the years he’s spent inside a prison. I watched him grow and mature. We helped each other through some very tough times. For a long time I never talked to him about my Buddhist practice. He even tried to understand the Muslim faith. There is usually a strong Muslim group in most prisons and one positive aspect of that is they promote peace and it’s a good group to get involved with for protection. Jamie was searching for answers about his life. I finally told about Buddhism and I watched a man start to understand why his life progressed the way it did.

    Like with you and Steve, it took our communication to a deeper level and understanding. I love Jamie. Not in a way of wanting us to share a life together. I’m 30 years older than he is, so I have taken on the role of Mom, which is what he calls me. But the love is still there. It’s the kind of love that isn’t based on looks our sexual desire. It is just love. My husband has always known about Jamie. It isn’t something that could ever threaten our relationship. I, too, am writing a book, which is why I started the blog, to organize the issues. I want to finish it by July of next year to present to the parole board, and then indeed publish it. There is a story to be told. I want to give value to his years inside. Help give direction to his life when he gets out.

    I commend you and Steven for what you are doing. Prison is an awful place to be, but everything happens for a reason. In Buddhism there is a phrase “turning poison into medicine” In the secular world you could say, “Make a silk purse out of a sows ear” Take something negative and turn it into something positive. There is a reason these two men are in prison and if going through this they learn how to be a better person – at the end of their lives that is all that really matters.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment...

