An Unexpected “Thank You”

 

th8WQL00LC

 

I was brought to tears today. I was struggling with work and my own personal spiritual journey. I nearly wanted to give up. But I knew I’d be letting myself and my husband down.

I finally found the will to get online and dig into my list of things to do.

I manage Stone City Blog. It’s a collection of blogs written by men in prison. I don’t get paid for this. I’d call it charity/volunteer/non-profit work for right now.

I saw that I had about 60 emails from inmates, all waiting for me to post their work. I was expecting a large number like that. After all, I let things back up, knowing very well that I shouldn’t have let that happen.

About an hour into my work load, I find an email addressed to me.

As I opened it, tears streamed down my face as I began reading. This man, whom I’ve never met, wrote me the sweetest thank you:

“…thank you for what you have brought to many of us here behind these walls. What you have done has allowed us to have a voice to our words…”

I’ve been managing this blog site for several months now, and he is the first man who took the time to personally write me a thank you. I felt sooo appreciated and valued. I had been starting to feel invisible. I truly needed that recognition.

The Universe has perfect timing. I had been searching for a voice of my own. Little did I know that I would find it through helping other peoples’ voices to be heard.

This is something that I had to experience, to give me meaning and purpose in my work again. I was reminded of why my husband and I started this site.

An unexpected Thank You and an expression of gratitude can indeed have a great impact.

 

thCAHTCAWH

Suzie Jennings

19 thoughts on “An Unexpected “Thank You”

      • mihrank says:

        Hi Suzie – I am in the last stages to finalize the Radio Internet software, which will allow us to broadcast live on air. If you don’t mind email me, I can share more information. I look forward to hearing from you.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. eternianetta says:

    Gratitude and appreciation goes hand in hand and they are very powerful in the lives of those who give and receive them. Sometimes a heart felt thank you is the best reward one can receive especially when you didn’t expect it. Nice story Suzie, keep doing what you’re doing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Renata Maximiano says:

    Hello Suzie,

    I have been reading and reading lots of the blogs written by you or your husband. I recently started talking to a man in the same correction center and this is my first time doing so. I am head over heals for him, and it has only been a week that we have been talking… I have told my family about this but everyone just smile and don’t believe me. the stories you all have shared have shown me that I am not the only one in the world to feel such way. So, for that I thank you guys!!!
    I am actually hoping/planning to visit him this year (2015), maybe we can be online girl friends? I have so much to say but having someone that completely understand where I am coming from- WOW, THAT WOULD BE OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!
    Like I said, I am completely new to this to still figuring things out!!!so I might take a while to respond! btw, I live in Maryland which is 45 min from Washington DC… my inmate (as Jpay calls it) is sentenced to be released in 2025, I definitely need some advise from a wise person who has been in my shoes… I hope to hear from you soon! I hope you don’t mind, I will mention to him about this blog- I try to keep him in the loop with all that happens with me and him the same!!!

    Thank you for all you do and have a blessed week,

    ps- sorry for commenting here, didn’t know how to send a message :/
    Renata M.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment...

