Paper Hugs

 

Lets Hug

 

Yes! Letter writing still exists in this day and age. And there is something wildly exciting about getting a real love letter in the mailbox.

Due to our long distance relationship, my husband and I both understand the importance of our forms of communication. We stay in contact primarily through handwritten letters and emails. Every time I receive a letter, it’s as though he is reaching out and wrapping his arms around me. It’s such a warm comfort.

In fact, one time I surprised him by sending 32 love letters in one day! I wanted to put a smile on his face & allow him to feel me reach out and “hug” him. (read his view of that surprise: I Love My Lady)The romantic in me enjoys finding creative ways to show my husband that I am thinking of him. 🙂

When it’s your spouse that you are separated from, I feel that there is an entirely different degree of “I miss you.” And it’s something that some people find difficult to translate into words.

Steven & I have a level of deep emotional intimacy from our articulate ways of communicating. We fell in love through writing, and we continue to do so every day.

In our marriage, we have had more “paper hugs” than actual hugs. When I think about it that way, it makes me a little sad…really sad, to be totally honest. But I know it won’t be this way forever. I find comfort knowing that the best is yet to come.

It definitely takes love, patience, commitment, and a certain strength to be miles & miles apart. I am so thankful that we both possess those qualities.

To read my husband’s perspective, please read his blog called: Electronic Kisses

 

thCAHTCAWH

Suzie Jennings

9 thoughts on “Paper Hugs

  1. 1080miles says:

    I really love this, and definitely agree! I absolutely adore love letters and I enjoy writing them even more! Wow 32 letters in one day!? My boyfriend would certainly be overwhelmed but that’s incredibly sweet of you! You have such a positive outlook and it’s very inspiring.
    Thank you for the follow and I look forward to reading more of your great posts!

    Wish you all the best
    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1080miles says:

    Reblogged this on 1080miles and commented:
    This is such a beautiful post about writing love letters. Give it a read! For those of us in LDRs, sometimes letters are the best gift we can get at times. She took it to a whole new level sending her husband 32 letters in one day, that’s awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment...

