Love Is An Action

 

thCAC2PJSN

 

Through experience, I am learning that love grows when it is expressed and put into action.

I’ve been doing a lot of research about love. And I am able to take something valuable from everything I read on this beautiful and fascinating subject. There are all sorts of opinions, theories, and point-of-views out there about love. As it turns out, people have been trying to define what it is for centuries.

Sometimes we should just go back to basic simplicity:

 

“Dear children, let’s not merely say that we love each other; let us show the truth by our actions.” (1 John 3:18 NLT)

 

Honestly, I was having a difficult time finding my role. Being the wife to a man in prison, I am unable to show my love in conventional ways like: cooking him meals, washing his clothes, rubbing his shoulders after a long day at work, calling him on the phone, maintaining a clean home, etc. I am still getting used to our un-traditional relationship.

I’ve been having to find more realistic ways of showing my love & devotion to my husband. And once I accepted this and started to actually make this adjustment, the harmony between us has strengthened tremendously.

Love is unique to everyone and their situation. Only we can define how to best show it. For my husband and I, it all started with open & honest communication of our wants and needs.

Having true love makes discovering & applying these learnings fun and rewarding for us both 🙂

 

“Love is sustained by action, a pattern of devotion in the things we do for each other every day.” –Nicholas Sparks

 

Reading different quotes & advice about love is great, but putting what I’ve learned into action is even better. I feel it in return. And it feels…good, natural, and it makes me happy. It also makes my husband happy, too. It’s a win-win!

I feel the love between us growing & strengthening as we continue on our journey in life together as husband & wife.

To me, experience is giving me a deeper meaning of what love truly is.

b

thCAHTCAWH

Suzie Jennings

4 thoughts on “Love Is An Action

  1. Marie Abanga says:

    Dear Suzzie,

    I don’t know what led you to my blog. I am still so new to so many things although I have been blogging for over a year and a half. I am from Africa and we are not that tech oriented unless for ‘fraudsters’ if you know what I mean. I love your blog, I love what you are doing and trying to keep doing. I can only imagine what it is you twosome are going through. Let the Lord be your shepherd alway. I worked in a prison for 6 months and I met and became friends with different categories of prisoners. One of them was known as Billy the Bully but I got him to release a knife he had been threatening with. Just with an earnest smile. That was love in action too right? I wish I could help further, but my prayers will help I believe. Let me make a token on go fund me even if you’ve already gone to DC. Lots of strength in the great I AM.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Suzie M. Jennings says:

      Hi Marie. Yes, that was love in action too! Love can be shown in sooo many ways…even in an earnest smile. 🙂 Thank you for your comment and for your prayers. It’s very nice to meet you!

      Like

Please Leave a Comment...

