Christmas With My Husband

 

thCAKE7OU0

 

It was another long-distance Christmas for my husband & I. Physically we are miles apart, but our hearts are connected and snuggled close.

When he asked me what I wanted this year, I had to think about it for a couple days. Truth is, I had to unbraid two questions:

  1. What do I want him to get me for Christmas?
  2. What is he able to give me?

As silly as this may sound, I had to remind myself that my husband is in prison. So I spent those couple of days considering the realities of how we can experience Christmas together.

For the past two years, Steven & I have entered the Christmas Door Decorating Contest. We came close to winning both times, but didn’t. If you know Steven, then you know that he has a healthy competitive side…sports, games, leadership, he loves all that stuff!

This year I told him that I wanted to enter the contest again and I want us to WIN 1st place! He was all-in! It’s no sports competition, but hey, it’s a combination of something we each love that we could do together.

Holiday Hugs

I couldn’t hug him in person, but I could let my words hug him (Paper Hugs). And with pictures, I could show him Christmas through my eyes. I sent a piece of my heart with every letter/picture. I also sent all kinds of creative things for the door contest, too.

A couple weeks into December though, a wave of sadness threatened me. Social media was full of pictures with couples together. I wanted that.

But I guess its best that the sadness flowed THROUGH me, rather than pitching a tent and settling IN me. I stayed strong. I sat down and wrote my sweet man about the beauty I saw, not the temporary sadness I felt.

Then, it happened!

I got an email from him, and this very picture was attached:

bj

There are no words for what I felt as I saw that familiar smile.

He had NEVER emailed me a picture before. This was a brand new feature available to him.

Just as I started to feel the weight of the distance between us, is when he sent me this picture. In it, he is holding two handmade Christmas presents for the door.

This is what my heart longed for…a glimpse into my husbands environment and his surroundings. And it was a way to feel connected to what we were working on together, and seeing progress on our masterpiece.

It was like opening this gift:

aswd

This gift has given me a refreshed set of eyes to look through. Now I more fully understand what Steven must feel when he receives my pictures. This has brought a whole new dimension to our relationship for me.

And in so many ways, I can relate this experience to other aspects of our marriage as well.

I love Steven with all my heart & soul. I absolutely loved sharing my passion for Christmas with him.

Despite our situation and the many miles between us, we had the most wonderful Christmas together. Our gifts to one another will be cherished forever and ever.

To hear my husband’s perspective, please read his blog titled, Christmas With My Wife .

 

I Hope Everyone Had A Very Merry Christmas!

 

thY0PZ8KQX

Suzie Jennings

 

PS – We Won The 2015 Christmas Door Decorating Contest!

One thought on “Christmas With My Husband

  1. inspirationalgem says:

    Beautiful! I love how you make the best of a painful situation. And it’s true miles mean nothing if we are close in heart to those we can’t have physically near. ❤ Your Christmas spirit is inspiring! I love Christmas and Christmas posts! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment...

