A Story Of Forgiveness

 

untitled

 

“The lotus flower blooms most beautifully from the deepest and thickest mud.” Buddhist Proverb

 

I learned the hard way about the process of forgiveness. But strangely, I am thankful for that.

My story starts out beautifully. My husband and I met, fell in love, and mapped out our life together. We made goals, planned our future, created a blog network, created a publishing company, we articulated our love, we viewed one another as equals, and shared a loving circle of harmony together.

Then it happened. Within the first few months of our marriage, my husband tells me:

 

“My love for you is conditional. I am using you.”

 

That bruised my tender newlywed heart. Majorly.

It’s difficult to even describe the emotions I went through. The hope of how I envisioned our future together suddenly shattered. I felt my enthusiasm towards our goals quickly lower.

For me, my life turned upside down. Not only was I adjusting to having my husband in prison and succeeding financially with hundreds of miles between us, but I was then struggling to find unity in our marriage after that.

His choice of words really threw me for a loop. I began to look at other prison relationships and how sooo many inmates resort to using women. The more I dwelled on that, the more I felt it happening to me.

The situation cooled down. He apologized. And I forgave him. We soon got back into the rhythm of things. Then, the demands quickly started all over again.

Silently, I carried his bruising words with me. Not realizing the pain and turmoil I was allowing to keep stored deep within me.

Every time we spoke about our publishing company, our blog network, or any means of succeeding financially together…I associated all of those things to a time when he was “using” me. It got so bad that when those topics got brought up, I would literally get a wave of physical fatigue.

My loving husband had no idea that I harbored that negative energy. He assumed that it was all in the past, because for him, it was. And every now and then those feelings would surface, and I’d bring up the past and it disrupted our harmony.

Whatever was happening inside of me, it was not serving me or my marriage well. I recognized enough to know that.

I absolutely love my husband and I treasure our relationship. So I set out to find answers, and to find healing. While on that personal journey, I continued to show unconditional love to my husband. I continued to encourage him in his daily life. And I continued to keep our projects moving forward as best as I could.

I had no idea that I had to put my forgiveness into action. That sounds silly, but I have never experienced such an in-depth forgiveness towards anyone before. This is how I know that my heart truly loves this man.

I had to go through a deep emotional detoxification in order to get that negative energy out of me. Saying “I forgive you” was the easy part. It was the inward emotional part that finally helped me let go of the bitterness and the resentment of feeling “used” every time my husband asked something of me.

thZ7E8KR32

Forgiveness is a choice, and a process. I now choose to focus on the future. When a painful memory resurfaces, I remind myself that I have released and forgiven it. By doing that, I train my mind that it is resolved.

 

“To forgive is to set a prisoner free, and realize the prisoner was you.”

 

Wowza! The irony of that quote seemed so fitting for my situation. Dwelling on the past kept me a prisoner in it. I more clearly see that now. This process of forgiveness has been about my freedom of letting go and moving forward.

I reached a whole new territory that I have never made it to before. Surrendering and releasing that pain has helped cleanse my mind and body of toxic energy and has taught me to forgive quickly.

My husband, Steven, wrote me a beautiful and sincere apology. I titled it: The Sweetest Letter From My Husband. It touched every part of my soul. It is what led me into my final step of letting go. I completely love this man!

This obstacle has helped us to grow individually, as well as grow together. Our love has strengthened from this, and today we share a beautiful circle of harmony.

bcd2b9347a887b1dc50abf0f0c8bfcc8

I am thankful for this whole experience. It has helped me discover the true power of forgiveness. Out of the mud of my struggle and my pain, I have opened a petal of my inner lotus flower.

 

“The lotus is the most beautiful flower, whose petals open one by one. But it will only grow in the mud. In order to grow and gain wisdom, first you must have the mud (the obstacles of life and its suffering). The mud speaks of the common ground that humans share, no matter what our stations in life. Whether we have it all or we have nothing, we are all faced with the same obstacles: sadness, loss, illness, death, etc. If we are to strive as human beings to gain more wisdom, more kindness and more compassion, we must have the intention to grow as a lotus and open each petal one by one.” – Goldie Hawn

 

123

Suzie Jennings

3 thoughts on “A Story Of Forgiveness

  1. inspirationalgem says:

    This is so beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing. I love your strength and love. I haven’t experienced a situation like yours but I find your strength and love so inspiring and your story so liberating. It reminds me of the importance of letting go, letting go of old pain and things that can’t be changed, accepting what is while working for the better, to evolve and move forward. I’m so happy your love survived and is still going strong. In a situation like yours, some would have walked away but you stayed and loved even deeper. Your unconditional love is beautiful and inspiring. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment...

