Hiking 1,000 Miles To Hug My Husband

How to Choose the Best Hiking Boots for You

Yep, I am!

Our marriage is full of Paper Hugs, and I really feel like going the distance to get a real one. I will start in California and hike north on the Pacific Crest Trail all the way up to Washington, where my husband is. I estimate that this long distance backpacking trip will take nearly 3 months.

This hike symbolizes my commitment and devotion. There will be peaks and valleys along the way on this trip, just as in our life together. Most of our communication is virtual right now (emails, blogging, social media, etc.). I just feel like I need to do something physical to make this marriage feel more real to me.

thCAAJWW2N

Pacific Crest Trail

The romantic in me is doing this for my marriage. But I am also doing it for myself. To heal. To accept. To experience. To find my truth. To feel alive. And to feel a sense of personal accomplishment.

This will be a self-test to gauge how strong I really am and will show me that I am capable of anything I set my mind to. I need this to help push me out of my comfort zone. It will be physically & mentally challenging, no doubt. However, the spiritual rewards could be life-changing.

As I travel within the beauty of nature and within the beauty of myself, I will simultaneously be traveling towards my wonderful husband, Steven, whom I love and miss dearly. Knowing that every single step will literally unite us, is such a beautiful feeling inside me right now. I’m excited for this journey I am embarking on! Love will be my compass as I hike 1,000 miles to hug my husband.

I’d like to ask for your support & encouragement during this trip. Thanks everyone!

123

Suzie Jennings

Image (4)

 

34 thoughts on “Hiking 1,000 Miles To Hug My Husband

  1. SonniQ says:

    Oh wow! You are really making that hike? I am so impressed with you! The two of you are so special. I can’t remember if I told you I have started a newsletter. It’s called ITFO. short for “Inside The Forbidden Outside “Sometimes my brain cells get tangled. I’m putting out my 2nd issue, but it’s the first one using mailchimp.com using their templates to make it look professional. I’m sending it out on Sat. Since I am still fumbling around I’m sure it will change as time goes by. In this issue I am promoting 3 books and one of them is Steven’s. The link for each book takes them to amazon and I also pasted in the what is said about each book and asked each to please do reviews when they were done reading. I will do one newsletter each month. With all the work you and Steven do with other inmates you may know other books that are worth pushing. I’m also adding at least one person that needs a penpal with each issue and articles, and a book chapter and how my writing is going. I’m not sure if I have your email address so I can send it to you. I’ve come to know quite a few people who are also trying to do something positive for inmates. I know I’d like to add things about the two of you and what you both are doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzie M. Jennings says:

      Thanks, Sonniq! Yep, I’m really hiking all the way to my loving husband. I am so excited. It’ll be an adventure for sure! I remember you mentioning newsletters…so glad to hear you’ve started. Thanks for mentioning Stevens ebook. You are awesome!!! Our email is ss.jennings@yahoo.com. We’d love to read them. Thanks for the support!

      Like

  2. SonniQ says:

    Reblogged this on My Name is Jamie. My Life in Prison and commented:
    Suzie is hiking 1000 miles to see her husband in prison. The both have blogs and Steven has also written a book. They met and married after he was incarcerated and have smiles that light up a room! Read both of their blogs. They are both so worth it and you won’t be disappointed

    Liked by 1 person

  3. phoebedecook says:

    I’m so glad you found my blog, because now I found your blog! I’m so excited you will be hiking the PCT. I’m in training to hike the Appalachian Trail as my 50th birthday present to myself (in 2026). Please keep us posted about how your hike is going. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alex Colvin says:

    You’ve got my support and encouragement all the way. Be sure to stop in Burney. Maybe even have your husband meet you here for a half-way rendezvous!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tanya Ward (Jennings) says:

    Be safe, I have a friend who hiked the Centennial trail from the Mex Border to Canada a few years ago. She posted all along the way and met some great hiker friends too. Some of her days were very challenging but so rewarding. I hope you have a support system along the way. Where in Washington do you get off the trail? I’d love to meet you in person!
    I am a distant cousin to Danny Jennings, Stevens father. I was married to Danny’s cousin Doug Jennings. I live in Arlington,WA just north of Everett where Gay lived. I will be following your posts! Best of luck to you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzie M. Jennings says:

      Hi, Tanya! Thanks for commenting. I’d love to meet you, too. I’m planning on hiking to The Bridge of the Gods on the Oregon/Washington border…the PCT crosses right over it. I am having a couple R&R days with my mom right now and will hop back on the trail tomorrow. I do have a loving support system full of friends and family. 🙂

      Like

  6. wanderlustwarjie says:

    Take very good care Suzie. Would be nice if you leave non-trash markers to mark each trail your day ends, take pics of those, and show it to your husband once you get there 😀

    Like

Please Leave a Comment...

