Me & The Trail

 

 

image

 

DAY 22

The views out here are stunning. I’ve been seeing sooo much beauty along this scenic trail.

Today I met a California Corrections Officer who is thru-hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. At first, I felt a bit ashamed to tell him that my husband is in prison. I still have a difficult time sharing that with people, but this presented the perfect opportunity to share my husband’s blog. So I did. And he was intrigued and jotted down Steven’s site to check out. Cool.

 

DAY 23

I was settled in my tent for the night and ready to go to bed. I soon heard another hiker enter the campsite looking for a spot to set up their tent. After a few minutes of hearing them walk around breaking twigs/sticks I said, ” Hello.”

That’s when I heard it…the loud sniff from a very large animal!

I waited until I could see what it was from my small tent window. Yep! It was a bear!!!

Surprisingly, I did not panic. I knew exactly what to do: make noise.

It went away.

But then it came back a few minutes later. So I made more noise. Finally,the bear disappeared into the woods.

Would you believe it…the bear came back a third time! That’s when I unzipped my tent, stuck out my arm, and used my air horn a few times. The bear did not come back.

In the midst of all that, I said many prayers. I felt a calmness from being prepared and knowing exactly what to do in this circumstance. I was all alone in the wilderness, yet I did not feel alone.

 

DAY 24

image

It was another HOT day. I had constant beads of sweat dripping from me. And my water turned warm quickly.

The trail was rocky today and I could feel the 90° heat radiating up from them. It was like being sandwiched between two blazing heaters. But I pushed forward, letting every bead of sweat motivate me.

 

DAY 25

I made it to Sierra City today for my re-supply stop. It’s a charming little town nesstled by the beautiful Sierra Buttes. The first thing I did was buy 2 ice cold Gateraid drinks and downed them. Very refreshing.

 



image

 

I did not see many other hikers these past few days. It was mostly just me and the trail.

I feel success within me after every section I complete. The path I am on has been a rocky one at times, both literally and metaphorically, but the trail guides me in the right direction every time. I will keep to the path and continue forward.

 

Suzie Jennings

“Jingles”

 

7 thoughts on “Me & The Trail

  1. Marie Abanga says:

    Whoop whoop whoop all the way Jingles. How blessed you are to have a crest trail, imagine in Africa? you wouldn’t dare no hiking via any forest in the first place. Way to go, I can see Steven’s beam widening by the moment

    Like

  2. carriegallop says:

    Hi Susie! Just wanted to check in on you! So proud of you for doing this journey of self discovery! You are such an amazing woman, I hope you know that! Thinking of you, and hope you are well! ❤️😘

    Like

Please Leave a Comment...

